Recent UNM Grads Claim Pinehurst

 Coronado, CA — The San Diego County Pinehurst concluded on Sunday morning at Coronado Golf Club.  Some tricky hole locations and final round pressure saw some higher scoring on Sunday. 
Recent graduates of the University of New Mexico, Ryan Barry of Del Mar and Ben Bauch of Lake Forest were two shots behind and might have had the luxury of not playing in the final group on Sunday.  After opening up with a 5-under par 67, the Barry/Bauch duo were making a charge on Sunday, going out in 3-under par 33 to get themselves right into contention.  After pars on #11 and #12, they holed out a solid chip for eagle on the short par-four 12th hole which gave them some momentum that they would not let go of.  After pars on holes 13-17, they birdied #18 to fire the low final round, a 6-under par 66, to claim the championship at 11-under par 133.  The team of Jeff Hunter (Rancho Santa Fe) and Ed Cuff (Del Mar) opened up the lead after the 1st round, finishing in dramatic fashion with a birdie on the difficult 17th hole.  Then, Cuff reached the par-five 18th, with Hunter draining a 50-foot eagle putt to take the 1st round lead at 7-under par 65.  They played solid all weekend, and fell just short after closing with a 69 to grab second place just a stroke back at 10-under par 134.   The teams of Scott Stevens/Cory Gladstone and Michael Mehran/John King finished in a tie for 3rd place at 9-under par 135. 

Thank you to all the players that competed in the Pinehurst Championship and to the staff of Coronado Golf Club for their assistance and for hosting the event. 
San Diego County Pinehurst Championship
Final Results
67-66–133    Ryan Barry and Ben Bauch (125 points each)
65-69–134    Jeff Hunter & Ed Cuff (100 points each)
66-69–135    Cory Gladstone & Scott Stevens (85 points each)
68-67–135    Michael Mehran & John King (85 points each)
66-71–137    Akash Patel & Brian Konishi (65 points each)
68-69–137    Tom Isaak & Mark Stuart (65 points each)
72-69–141    Mark King & Pat Duncan (50 points each)
72-74–146    David Johnson & Victor Zayas (40 points each)
79-72–151    Chuck Vuytowecz & Bob Burns (30 points each)

Questions/Contact:  For any questions please contact Joe Wagner, Tournament Director, at or via telephone at 858-245-4655.