Duncan and Metje Claim Pinehurst in Convincing Fashion


 Coronado, CA — The San Diego County Pinehurst concluded on Sunday morning at Coronado Golf Club.  Some tricky hole locations and final round pressure saw some higher scoring on Sunday. 
Patrick Duncan Jr and Matt Metje won wire-to-wire and were never really threatened in the final round.  Duncan and Metje opened up with a 4-under 32 on the front nine and increased their lead to 8 strokes at one point in the final round.  Crusing to the winner’s circle, Duncan and Metje played flawlessly on their way to the title that included the dynamic duo firing the low round of the tournament each day.  After opening up with a 8-under par 64 they fired the low final round, a 6-under par 66 to win at 14-under par 130 for the weekend.   With the win both Duncan and Metje earned 125 points towards the 2012 Century Club Matches. 
Although they were unable to sustain a charge at the leaders Joseph Ryon and Bucky Coe finished in solo 2nd place.  Coe and Ryon played well all weekend and closed with a 2-under par 70 to claim 2nd place and 100 points a piece at 9-under par 135.  Four teams tied for 3rd at 7-under par 137 including the team of Gary Robinson/John Kollus, Brian Hess/Cavin McCall, Jeff Hunter/Ed Cuff, and Phil Walker/Don Ceglar. 
Thank you to all the players that competed in the Pinehurst Championship and to the staff of Coronado Golf Club for their assistance and for hosting the event. 
San Diego County Pinehurst Championship
Final Results
64-66–130    Matt Metje & Buddy Duncan (125 points each)
65-70–135    Joseph Ryon & Bucky Coe (100 points each)
68-69–137    Gary Robinson & John Kollus (75 points each)
65-72–137    Brian Hess & Cavin McCall (75 points each)
70-67–137    Jeff Hunter & Ed Cuff (75 points each)
70-67–137    Philip Walker & Don Ceglar (75 points each)
72-67–139    Brett Atkinson & Geoff Park (50 points each)
71-70–141    Bill Brammer & Tom Isaak (40 points each)
68-74–142    Mark Stuart & Gene Walsh (25 points each)
71-71–142    Pete Roberts & Don O’Connor (25 points each)
70-73–143    Pat Duncan/Mark King
69-74–143    Ray Gutoski & Kenneth Kubis
73-70–143    Dean Siskowski & Eric Tabanico
67-77–144    Cory Gladstone & Stacey Morimoto
71-74–145    Darryl Miller & Akash Patel
74-73–147    Jimmy Harris & John Fieberg
76-75–151    Spencer Thurn & Bill Thurn
76-75–151    Patrick Baxter & Adam Reyes

Questions/Contact:  For any questions please contact Joe Wagner, Tournament Director, at Josephwagner72@gmail.com or via telephone at 858-245-4655.